About Me

I was born in Maryland and grew up in Iowa. I've been living in Texas for the past 8 years. I'm currently attending Rice University to earn a Bachelor of Science in Mathematics. Once I finish, I plan on attending graduate school to further my studies. I'm not entirely sure what I'll do after that, but I am considering becoming a professor.

My mother is Ms. Worldwide. Born in Japan, she attended Cambridge in the UK. She's lived in Japan, England, Australia, and now, America. She is currently a professor of Asian studies.

My father is the jack of all trades. He grew up in the Midwest and worked in construction to be able to attend a university. He went on to work as an artist, printing press specialist, and eventually a professor of video game design and digital art. He is currently a self-employed investor.

My sister is a warrior. Three years before me, she was born with quadriplegic cerebral palsy and rendered unable to walk, talk, eat without a stomach tube, or do just about anything without assistance. Her childhood was rough, but with diligent help from my parents and I, she has grown to find joy in life despite her disability. Though she cannot speak a single word, the smile on her face speaks millions.

When I was about 8 years old, my father introduced me to pure math and computer science. In lieu of fictional bedtime stories, every night my father read for me from a book on the history of mathematical discoveries. He sat down with me and taught me how to write my first computer program. From that point on, I was hooked on math and computer science.

I attended Clements High School in Sugar Land, wherein I took all the computer science and math courses I could. My physics teachers introduced me to the exciting curiosities of mechanics and electrodynamics. I joined a Science Olympiad team and a VeX robotics team; I discovered that I have a passion for learning about science and producing creative applications of it, especially when I'm part of a team.

Rice University is hard. I switched from physics to computer science before eventually settling on mathematics. I've struggled psychologically, but my grades are nearly straight A's, and my professors and friends are very supportive.

In my free time, I tend to work on various projects. I create software that's cool and, sometimes, useful. I like to work with electronics and have explored microcontroller programming and printed circuit board design. I use Arch Linux and frequently explore the capabilities of free and open source software from GNU and alike.

Like a lot of people, I'm not sure what the future holds for me. Regardless of what I do, I'll do it to the best of my ability, in order to perform my duty to impart a net good onto the human race.